The Tin Woodman of Oz

The Tin Woodman of Oz

L. Frank Baum


  • Description
  • Author
  • Info
  • Reviews


The Tin Woodman goes on a wild adventure in search of his long-lost love in this 1918 children’s classic in the Oz series.

In this magical tale from the author of The Wonderful Wizard of Oz, fans of Dorothy Gale’s adventure not only learn how the Tin Woodman came to be, but also follow him and his good friend the Scarecrow as he goes in search of his true love, a beautiful Munchkin girl named Nimmie Amee.

As the Tin Woodman, the Scarecrow, and a boy named Woot embark on their journey through the Land of Oz, they encounter inflatable loons, angry dragons, and a giantess who transforms them into animals for her own amusement. But their adventures take on new complications when they meet another suitor of Nimmie Amee—who was also transformed into a tin man by the Wicked Witch of the East. Now, if they ever do find Nimmie, which suitor will she choose?


L. Frank Baum:
L. Frank Baum (1856–1919) was born in upstate New York and began writing stories at a very young age. Best known as the author of the beloved children’s classic The Wonderful Wizard of Oz, he wrote thirteen sequels set in the Land of Oz and numerous other novels, poems, and plays.